Tempeh Meat Balls -a story of a ruined dinner

Posted: March 9, 2010 in recipe
Tags: , , ,

I have many interests outside of Art, such as  cooking. Today I was excited to try A recipe for tempeh meatballs, which my sister made for me years ago.  Tempeh is fermented cooked soybean which can be cooked and used as a meat substitute.  I first tried this at the New Age Health Spa in Neversink, NY.

The recipe:

  • 1 tempeh package
  • 1 tb soy sauce
  • 1tb water
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 tbs oil
  • 6 oz tomato paste
  • 1/2 tb vinegar
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. Cook tempeh in water and soy sauce for 4 minutes on each side
  2. Blend the tempeh into a smooth paste, add cinnamon through pepper and knead well.  Shape into balls.
  3. Place oil and onion and saute until tender. Add the balls and bake for 3 minutes while stirring.Dilute the tomato paste to the skillet and enough water to cover balls. Add vinegar and boil. Simmer for 15 min.

After the blend, I got a strange slightly gummy texture but it wasn’t smooth.

I softly made small balls in my palm and placed it on the oil and onions.

After I put in the sauce, it began to fall apart…and my dinner was ruined.  If you have had better luck with tempeh let me know!

In preparation of St. Patrick’s Day next week, I have prepared corn beef, which sitting in my fridge in a prepared brine.  I will report on this recipe  next week.

Leave a Reply

